Easton’s visit to the hospital

Oh Easton….Do you know how bad you scared us these past two days?? I’m watching you sit on the floor at our home tonight playing with a toy and realize how much I take for granted each day.

Turns out after my last post you ended up getting much more sick then we all expected! I called the Dr’s office back and they told us to go straight to the hospital. I’m not one to panic and in all honesty I almost thought we were rushing into things heading to the emergency room. They checked your stats, ran some blood work, and then we waited. I remember looking at Daddy and saying, “watch them come back and say….Looks like its nothing but a bad ear infection…..” And in walked the Doctor. He had a very serious look on his face and told us from the looks of the blood work you were what they considered “septic.” Basically your bloodstream had an infection and it was tainting your entire body. We were told they would need to do a spinal tap, catheter & xrays. My head was swimming, my heart was racing and I thought I was hearing things. Your temp was about 103 and they went to give you something to help bring it down-little did they know your lymph nodes were so swollen they were blocking your air ways and you quickly stopped breathing on us. I remember feeling like it was something out of a movie. Next thing I know there were 9 nurses and dr’s in the emergency room-what they were doing…I don’t know. I remember watching your little lips turn blue as the room spun around me.

Before I know it-they had loaded us up onto an ambulance and you and I were on our way to the pediatric ICU at the closest hospital with a children’s wing.

P-ICU...You were FINALLY sitting up!

Mommy is SO thankful here to have you healthy enough to sit up at this point. Even if it was only enough to lean your sweet head on my shoulder.

We were told as they were discharging us from ICU into a regular room that we could expect to be at the hospital for another 2-3 days on IVs the whole time but you are one strong and determined little man. You were able to be taken off IVs the next day and after more testing and ultrasounds came back stable you were eventually able to come home on day 2 of our visit. Praise the Lord! We still have a long road to complete recovery but you are making such a bounce back-quick!

It’s amazing how quickly one day can unexpectedly change the course of your entire life. I will forever be showing thanks for all the prayers that were lifted, the support that was shown, and the great friends and family we have that were with us the entire time.

ShutterLoveTuesdaysSweet Shot Day

9 responses to “Easton’s visit to the hospital

  1. Jessica, those are some of your best pictures! I hope I didn’t bother you too much while you were at the hospital but everybody I knew kept asking me, “how’s Easton?” They are still praying BTW.
    Love you lots!

  2. Oh my gosh. So scary! I am praying for your little man. Hope he is healing quickly!

  3. this brought tears to my eyes, Jessica. I’m so so so glad that Easton is doing better and so strong and brave. Praying for a swift and speady recovery! Keep it up, Easton! 🙂

  4. This made me teary eyed. What a nightmare. Poor, poor baby!! (and poor mom and dad!) Praise God he’s doing so much better!!

  5. Margaret Burns-Mahere

    Oh Jessica, what a scare! You stood by him and stood strong for him. Thanks to God and prayers for him pulling through. I am thinking about ya’ll and hope that everything is going to be okay. May God be with you and forever bless you.

    Margaret

  6. Oh, Jessica! I’m so sorry b/c I know how very scary that is for Mom. Luke had pneumonia twice last year. It was horrible, but he bounced back both time.

    I’m so thankful that Easton is on the mend. XOXO!

  7. These pictures made me cry, what a sweet baby. Hopes and prayers that things are better.

  8. Thoughts and prayers are with all of you! These photos just break my heart – I can hardly take seeing him be so little and hooked up to so much…you hang in there, mama!

  9. Oh my! A sweet shot indeed! And an understatement. Thankful with you that your baby’s okay.

Leave a Reply

