Day of thanks

On this 11th (and 12th day….I’m having to combined the two. I came home so tired last night that I just couldn’t get on. ) I am showing thanks to our garden. It is so neat to me to be able to go out back and pick our ingredients for our salads, stir-fry, or veggie of the night.

We started our garden 3 summers ago. It was just a little patch out back. Today we have gone from our little “patch” out back to a nice garden area with three large growing areas. We experiment with the different crops we grow and this year we’ve decided to grow our first fall garden.

~ There can be no other occupation like gardening in which, if you were to creep up behind someone at their work, you would find them smiling. ~

Keagan loves to go out back and pick something for dinner….Or breakfast at that. During the summer he requested cucumber before school and went out and picked his own. How much more of a learning experience could you get for a child!?

~ I used to visit and revisit it a dozen times a day, and stand in deep contemplation over my vegetable progeny with a love that nobody could share or conceive of who had never taken part in the process of creation. It was one of the most bewitching sights in the world to observe a hill of beans thrusting aside the soil, or a rose of early peas just peeping forth sufficiently to trace a line of delicate green. ~

With all this garden talk I also thought I would post a picture for macro Friday of the pomegranate we attempted to eat this week. Key word being, “attempted.”

Does one know how to eat a pomegranate because this family sure didn’t…I even looked it up on ehow.com and we’re still confused. Needless to say, I don’t believe we’ll be growing one of these trees in our garden anytime soon…. 😉

Blogging from BoliviaGive me your best shot at Better in Bulk

7 responses to “Day of thanks

  1. I so admire you for that; I tried a small container garden this spring/summer and failed miserably. Not sure what I did wrong. I was so disappointed, as my grandmother has a serious green thumb and I was hoping some of that got passed down to me. And like you, I wanted to give my children the chance to see where real food comes from, show them how it grows, etc. I think I just ended up showing them how to kill a plant though!

  2. Love this! We have a small garden…7 or 8 plants, but it’s so awesome. My boys really enjoy it, too…the picking and the eating!

  3. Very nice pictures. As far as the Pomegranates ~~ I pick out the little seeds until I get a little jar full, and then I put this in my tossed green salads. The are colorful, sweet and give some crunch!!! Worth the trouble of picking out the seeds.

  4. There certainly isn’t anything like it! We weren’t able to plant our fall garden this year…just couldn’t find the time. Maybe we’ll be more successful this spring. Have a great day!

  5. I know what you mean about gardens. I love them, but I quit growing food because I hated to feed the deer. So now the deer just eat my flowers.

  6. I would love to have a veggie garden, but the monkeys eat everythign!

  7. Well, I would rather have a deer problem than a monkey problem!
    Jess, I always just chewed the seeds and spit out the pit of the pomegranite. I always have used it mainly for garnish…but wouldn’t plant a whole tree just to get some pretty seeds for a little garnish.

Leave a Reply

