Update to the Reading Corner…

A Million Little Pieces was surprisingly not my favorite book….Actually I couldn’t even finish it. I find that with a lot of Oprah’s book club books I tend to get bored and lose my interest really fast. This book, hands down, will be going back to Mr. K’s Used Books to get a trade-in credit for money not so well spent.

“”A Million Little Pieces” by James Frey is a brutally
explicit, honest novel about what Frey went through in a drug/alcohol rehab center. It not only focused on his experiences in the rehab center, but it also gave some insight into the horrible things that happened to him and that he did while using – the incomprehensible life of an addict.

I am incredibly excited over my new book, however….I just hope it’s as good as my expectations expect it to be. It’s called, Animal, Vegetable, Miracle: A Year of Food Life:

Animal, Vegetable, Miracle: A Year of Food Life is a non-fiction book by Barbara Kingsolver detailing her family’s attempt to eat only locally grown food for an entire year.

The book revolves around the concept of improving the family’s diet by eating only foods that her family was able to grow themselves. Kingsolver, along with her husband and daughters, moves to a farm in Virginia where they grow and can different varieties of tomatoes, learn about rooster husbandry, make cheese, and adjust to eating foods only when they are in season. The book contrasts this with the ecological costs of growing food in factory farms, transporting it thousands of miles, and adding chemical preservatives so it will not spoil.

Even though my personal family is not going all out as this family does, I have no doubt it will educate me in areas that I need to be taught in and help me appreciate the resources that surround us everyday in the help to provide my family food.

Also, one bonus with this book is that it does include recipes that they tried out along the way. Can’t wait to start reading!

2 responses to “Update to the Reading Corner…

  1. Wow, it sounds like from the description that A Million Little pieces would be interesting…what made you not like it?

    • I don’t know… I just couldn’t get into it. When I bought it-I bought it under the impression that it was a true story. Later I found out that he tricked all of his readers (Including Oprah) and that most of his stories in the book are heavily exaggerated. I’ll only get .50 or so for trade in so I’ll be happy to save it for you if you want to try it. You might find that you really like it. It was #1 on the best sellers list.

Leave a comment