Just another day in Paradise….

Well here we go again. Another episode with our air conditioner. This time the outside unit is working but whatever it is in our attic that keeps it pumping has sprung a leak. I was walking down the hall this afternoon and couldn’t help but to notice this:

All this is coming of course only a few days before we have an appraisal scheduled….so now not only do we have a major problem but we also have a nice water leak stain on our ceiling and going down our wall!

With no hesitation Aaron climbs up into the attic and locates the problem. Luckily he thinks he can fix it but of course not until everything dries out. So we’ve got a fan running up there and a washing machine of wet nasty towels:

And of course while we wait for it to dry out so Aaron can hopefully fix the leak-we can’t have the AC running….So of course on this hot 95 degree day the temp is slowly starting to creep up in the house.

Right now it’s still somewhat comfortable. I just hope we can get it fixed before another hot day tomorrow. And what it boils down to is I just have to remind myself to laugh just to keep from crying…. It all reminds me of the Phil Vasser song, “Just another day in Paradise”

The kids screamin’, phone ringin’
Dog barkin’ at the mailman bringin’
That stack of bills, overdue
Good morning, baby, how are you
Got a half hour, a quick shower
Take a drink of milk, but the milk’s gone sour
My funny face makes you laugh
Twist the top on, and I put it back
There goes the washin’ machine
Baby, don’t kick it
I promise I’ll fix it
‘Long about a million other things

Well, it’s okay, it’s so nice
It’s just another day in paradise
Where there’s no place that
I’d rather be
Well, it’s two hearts
And one dream
I wouldn’t trade it for anything
And I ask the Lord every night, ooh
For just another day in paradise

2 responses to “Just another day in Paradise….

  1. Jessica, the “thing” in the attic is called an Air Handler. Funny, actually hilarious story as to how I know the name of this “thing”. When Mama’s AC broke in her condo, I called Johnny (he has an AC/heating liscense, and of course owned 1/2 oif the condo with me). We decided to replace the whole unit with a middle-of- the- road brand new Carrier AC. (to the tune of $6000!) Johnny had talked to the AC man and he knew the part in the attic was fine. So he told me to tell the man to take it out and leave it in the carport for him to haul back to NC in case anybody up there ever needed that part. (The new unit came with a new Air Handler.) Johnny has gotten this really strong NC accent now…not at all like he had while living down here. I thought he told me to tell the man that he wanted to save the “Air Hammer”. So that’s what I told him. He said, “What?” I said it again. The Air Hammer! (Idiot AC man!) I think I had to tell him about 4 times. When Johnny came down and loaded it up to take back to NC, I realized (in person he sounded a little different than he did on the phone) that he had said “Air Handler…I know that AC man laughed all the way home after leaving the” Air Hammer” in Mama’s garage like I told him to do.

  2. Haha, that is funny! 🙂 Gotta love those southern accents…Which you and I don’t have AT ALL! ;P

Leave a Reply

